Atomic missiles to guard U.S. cities

Troops sent to Little Rock schools

Sputnik launching surprises the world


Dick Mayer

Dick Mayer, 32, of St. Petersburg, Florida scored 70-68-74-70-282, two over par, was tied by Cary Middlecoff, the defending Champion, and won in a playoff 72 to 79, at the Inverness Club, Toledo, Ohio. Jimmy Demaret, 47, of Kiamesha Lake, N. Y., finished one stroke behind. Demaret had shared the lead at 18 holes with 68 and had led Mayer by a stroke at 54 holes with 211.

Mayer and Billy Joe Patton, an amateur, had shared the lead at 36 holes with scores of 138, equaling the record. Middlecoff's 68-68 finish equaled the record of 136 for the last 36 holes; Gene Sarazen did 70-66-136 in 1932. Patton finished in a tie for eighth at 290 and was low amateur for the second time. Ben Hogan, of Fort Worth, Texas, was unable to try for a fifth victory. Pleurisy of the chest wall caused him such pain that he had to withdraw from the first round after his starting time had been postponed an hour to give him an opportunity for medical treatment. A storm near noon on the first day brought not only rain, but also winds of nearly 60 miles per hour. Play was suspended for 1 hour, 10 minutes and five groups were unable to finish until the morning of the second day.

The third day's gallery was estimated at 16,527 and the three-day gallery at 39,696, USGA Championship records for one and three days. The first and second-day attendances were 11,035 and 12,134, slightly under the 1954 figure, which represented the previous high. Each professional prize was again increased by 20% and the total reached a new peak of nearly $30,000. The winner's purse was $7,200. The event was televised nationally for two hours on the last day and for the last half-hour during the playoff.


Starts - 13

Best Finish - Winner 1957

Rds - 45

Cuts Made - 9

Top 3 - 2

Top 5 - 2

Top 10 - 2

Top 25 - 4

Avg. - 74.78

Scores In 60s - 2

Rds Under Par - 2

Earnings - $9,933.33
Current Leaders
T2DAY, J.+1F+3
T4ELS, E.-1F+5
T4MAHAN, H.+5F+5
* 11th Tee Start
USGA Membership - Join Now
Virtual U.S. Open
U.S. Open Shop
    Historical Notes
    On Oct. 4, 1895, the first U.S. Open Championship was conducted by the United States Golf Association on the nine-hole course of Newport (R.I.) Golf and Country Club.
    The first U.S. Open was considered something of a sideshow to the first U.S. Amateur, which was played on the same course and during the same week. Both championships had been scheduled for September but were postponed because of a conflict with a more established Newport sports spectacle, the America's Cup yacht races.
    Ten professionals and one amateur started in the 36-hole competition, which was four trips around the Newport course in one day. The surprise winner was Horace Rawlins, 21, an English professional who was the assistant at the host course. Rawlins scored 91-82-173 with the gutta-percha ball.
    Prize money totalled $335, of which Rawlins won the $150 first prize. He also received a gold medal and custody of the Open Championship Cup for his club for one year.
    In its first decade, the U.S. Open was conducted for amateurs and the largely British wave of immigrant golf professionals coming to the United States.
    As American players began to dominate the game, the U.S. Open evolved into an important world golf championship. Young John J. McDermott became the first native-born American winner in 1911 and repeated as champion in 1912.
    In 1913, the U.S. Open really took off when Francis Ouimet, a 20-year-old American amateur, stunned the golf world by defeating famous English professionals, Harry Vardon and Ted Ray, in a playoff.
    Another surge in the championship's popularity coincided with the amazing career of Georgia amateur Bob Jones, who won the U.S. Open four times (1923, 1926, 1929, 1930). Spectator tickets were sold for the first time in 1922 and a boom in entries caused the USGA to introduce sectional qualifying in 1924.
    In 1933, John Goodman became the fifth and last amateur to win the U.S. Open. The others were Ouimet, Jerome D. Travers (1915), Charles Evans Jr., (1916), and Jones.
    In each era, the world's greatest players have been identified by surviving the rigorous examination provided by the U.S. Open. Ben Hogan's steely determination boosted him to four victories (1948, 1950, 1951, 1953). Arnold Palmer's record comeback win in 1960, when he fired a final round of 65 to come from seven strokes off the lead, cemented his dashing image. Jack Nicklaus' historic assault on the professional record book began when he won the first of his four U.S. Open Championships in 1962, his rookie season as a professional.
    Nicklaus, who also won in 1967, 1972, and 1980, is one of only four golfers to win four U.S. Opens. The others are Willie Anderson (1901, 1903, 1904, 1905), Jones and Hogan.
    In 1954, the U.S. Open course was roped from tee to green for the first time. That year also marked the first national television coverage. Coverage was expanded by ABC Sports in 1977 so that all 18 holes of the final two rounds were broadcast live. In 1982, on the ESPN cable network, the first two rounds were broadcast live for the first time. NBC began televising the U.S. Open in 1995.
    The format of the U.S. Open has changed several times. The USGA extended the championship to 72 holes in 1898, with 36 holes played on each of two days. In 1926, the format was changed to 18 holes played each of two days, then 36 holes on the third day. In 1965, the present format of four 18-hole daily rounds was implemented for the first time.
    In 2002, a two-tee (Nos. 1 and 10) start was used for the first and second rounds. In addition, Bethpage State Park's Black Course in Farmingdale, N.Y., was the first facility owned by the public to host a U.S. Open. International qualifying sites were added in 2005 and the champion at Pinehurst Resort in N.C. was Michael Campbell, who qualified in England.