Peace Corps formed

First American in space for 15 minutes

Chubby Checker's "Twist" is a hit


Gene Littler

Gene A. Littler, 30, of San Diego, California, the only player to break par twice, won the championship by a single stroke with rounds of 73-68-72-68-281 at the par-70 Oakland Hills Country Club near Detroit. With this victory Littler became the eighth player in history to win both the Open and Amateur Championships. Doug Sanders, the 54-hole leader, and Bob Goalby were tied for second place at 282.

Amateur Jack Nicklaus, runner-up in 1960, and Mike Souchak finished in a tie for fourth with 284s. The first round was led by Bobby Brue with a 69. Sanders and Bob Rosburg shared the lead at 36 holes with 139. Thirteen contenders had scores ranging from 210 through 214 entering the final round. Sanders' 210 led with Littler three shots behind. When all other contenders finished at 282 or higher, it settled down to a Littler-Sanders duel.

After Littler took a one-over-par 5 on the final hole for 68, Sanders came to the 72nd hole needing a birdie for a 71 to tie. His third shot from off the front edge of the green barely missed the cup. Oakland Hills was a somewhat less stringent test than in 1951 when Ben Hogan won with 287. Only two rounds were played under par in 1951 while 18 were recorded in 1961.

Defending Champion Arnold Palmer just made the cut at 149 but scored two 70s the final day for a 289 total. Ben Hogan, also at 289, failed to finish in the first ten for the first time since 1940 (except when sickness prevented him from starting in 1949 and 1957). Four former Open Champions, Cary Middlecoff, Julius Boros, Lew Worsham, and Ed Furgol, failed to make the 36-hole cut.

A record gallery estimated at 47,975 saw the Championship, 4,097 more than the previous record of 43,878 set in 1960 in Denver. The last two days' attendance set records. There were 20,439 on the final day (3,912 more than the record of 16,527 in 1957) and 15,225 the second day (474 more than the record of 14,751 in 1960). The entry was 2,449. A record prize fund of $68,300 was awarded.

In addition to the Championship prize money of $60,500 for professionals, a total of $7,800 was awarded in the Sectional Qualifying Championships. Fifty-eight districts held Local Qualifying rounds and there were 13 Sectional Qualifying Championships.


Starts - 25

Best Finish - Winner 1961

Rds - 90

Cuts Made - 20

Top 3 - 2

Top 5 - 3

Top 10 - 5

Top 25 - 12

Avg. - 73.71

Scores In 60s - 8

Rds Under Par - 11

Earnings - $43,246.55
Current Leaders
T2DAY, J.+1F+3
T4ELS, E.-1F+5
T4MAHAN, H.+5F+5
* 11th Tee Start
USGA Membership - Join Now
Virtual U.S. Open
U.S. Open Shop
    Historical Notes
    On Oct. 4, 1895, the first U.S. Open Championship was conducted by the United States Golf Association on the nine-hole course of Newport (R.I.) Golf and Country Club.
    The first U.S. Open was considered something of a sideshow to the first U.S. Amateur, which was played on the same course and during the same week. Both championships had been scheduled for September but were postponed because of a conflict with a more established Newport sports spectacle, the America's Cup yacht races.
    Ten professionals and one amateur started in the 36-hole competition, which was four trips around the Newport course in one day. The surprise winner was Horace Rawlins, 21, an English professional who was the assistant at the host course. Rawlins scored 91-82-173 with the gutta-percha ball.
    Prize money totalled $335, of which Rawlins won the $150 first prize. He also received a gold medal and custody of the Open Championship Cup for his club for one year.
    In its first decade, the U.S. Open was conducted for amateurs and the largely British wave of immigrant golf professionals coming to the United States.
    As American players began to dominate the game, the U.S. Open evolved into an important world golf championship. Young John J. McDermott became the first native-born American winner in 1911 and repeated as champion in 1912.
    In 1913, the U.S. Open really took off when Francis Ouimet, a 20-year-old American amateur, stunned the golf world by defeating famous English professionals, Harry Vardon and Ted Ray, in a playoff.
    Another surge in the championship's popularity coincided with the amazing career of Georgia amateur Bob Jones, who won the U.S. Open four times (1923, 1926, 1929, 1930). Spectator tickets were sold for the first time in 1922 and a boom in entries caused the USGA to introduce sectional qualifying in 1924.
    In 1933, John Goodman became the fifth and last amateur to win the U.S. Open. The others were Ouimet, Jerome D. Travers (1915), Charles Evans Jr., (1916), and Jones.
    In each era, the world's greatest players have been identified by surviving the rigorous examination provided by the U.S. Open. Ben Hogan's steely determination boosted him to four victories (1948, 1950, 1951, 1953). Arnold Palmer's record comeback win in 1960, when he fired a final round of 65 to come from seven strokes off the lead, cemented his dashing image. Jack Nicklaus' historic assault on the professional record book began when he won the first of his four U.S. Open Championships in 1962, his rookie season as a professional.
    Nicklaus, who also won in 1967, 1972, and 1980, is one of only four golfers to win four U.S. Opens. The others are Willie Anderson (1901, 1903, 1904, 1905), Jones and Hogan.
    In 1954, the U.S. Open course was roped from tee to green for the first time. That year also marked the first national television coverage. Coverage was expanded by ABC Sports in 1977 so that all 18 holes of the final two rounds were broadcast live. In 1982, on the ESPN cable network, the first two rounds were broadcast live for the first time. NBC began televising the U.S. Open in 1995.
    The format of the U.S. Open has changed several times. The USGA extended the championship to 72 holes in 1898, with 36 holes played on each of two days. In 1926, the format was changed to 18 holes played each of two days, then 36 holes on the third day. In 1965, the present format of four 18-hole daily rounds was implemented for the first time.
    In 2002, a two-tee (Nos. 1 and 10) start was used for the first and second rounds. In addition, Bethpage State Park's Black Course in Farmingdale, N.Y., was the first facility owned by the public to host a U.S. Open. International qualifying sites were added in 2005 and the champion at Pinehurst Resort in N.C. was Michael Campbell, who qualified in England.