President John F. Kennedy assassinated in Dallas

Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.: "I have a dream"

Celtics win fifth straight NBA title


Julius Boros

Julius Borros won the Championship for the second time by defeating Arnold Palmer and Jacky Cupit in an 18-hole playoff at The Country Club, Brookline, Mass. Strong and gusty winds caused playing conditions as severe as any in the Open's history and the lowest 72-hole scores of 293 were nine over par, the highest since 1935 when Sam Parks won with 299 at Oakmont. Boros' rounds were 71-74-76-72. In the playoff, with the wind diminished, Boros won handily with a 70.

Cupit shot 73 and Palmer 76. Boros was the first of the three to finish the fourth round. He birdied the 16th and the 17th holes in the only strong finish by a contender. Palmer missed a putt of two feet on the 71st. Cupit lost a two-stroke lead with 6 on the par-4 71st. The last contender on the course, Cupit then narrowly missed holing a 15-foot putt for a birdie on the home green. Paul Harney, who finished before Boros, went one over par on the last hole and finished one stroke behind the leaders.

Tony Lema failed to par either of the last two holes and tied with Bruce Crampton and Billy Maxwell at 295. The wind, which came up at mid-day during the first round and was always a factor thereafter, blew in gusts up to 35 miles per hour during Saturday's two rounds and changed direction frequently. Of 409 rounds played in the Championship only 14 were par 71 or better. Bob Gajda was the first-round leader with 69. After 36 holes Palmer, Cupit and Dow Finsterwald were tied at 142 and Cupit led after 54 holes with 218.

Boros, 43 years old, became the oldest American to win the Championship. Ted Ray of England was 26 days older on the day he won in 1920. Only Ben Hogan compiled a better record in the Open than Boros since World War II. In nine of 13 starts Boros was among the first 10. He also won in 1952. Jack Nicklaus, the defending Champion, failed to qualify for the final 36 holes. He scored 76-77- 153, one stroke over the cutoff score.

For the first time, no amateur qualified for the final 36 holes. Prize money was a record $96,350, including $88,550 in the Championship proper and $7,800 in the 13 Sectional Qualifying Championships. Boros' share was $17,500, including a $1,500 bonus that went to each of the three in the playoff. Professionals who did not qualify to play the last 36 holes were rewarded for the first time, each receiving $150. The Championship honored the 50th anniversary of Francis Ouimet's historic Open victory at The Country Club.


Starts - 26

Best Finish - Winner 1952, '63

Rds - 95

Cuts Made - 21

Top 3 - 5

Top 5 - 9

Top 10 - 11

Top 25 - 17

Avg. - 73.01

Scores In 60s - 10

Rds Under Par - 12

Earnings - $59,526.73
Current Leaders
T2DAY, J.+1F+3
T4ELS, E.-1F+5
T4MAHAN, H.+5F+5
* 11th Tee Start
USGA Membership - Join Now
Virtual U.S. Open
U.S. Open Shop
    Historical Notes
    On Oct. 4, 1895, the first U.S. Open Championship was conducted by the United States Golf Association on the nine-hole course of Newport (R.I.) Golf and Country Club.
    The first U.S. Open was considered something of a sideshow to the first U.S. Amateur, which was played on the same course and during the same week. Both championships had been scheduled for September but were postponed because of a conflict with a more established Newport sports spectacle, the America's Cup yacht races.
    Ten professionals and one amateur started in the 36-hole competition, which was four trips around the Newport course in one day. The surprise winner was Horace Rawlins, 21, an English professional who was the assistant at the host course. Rawlins scored 91-82-173 with the gutta-percha ball.
    Prize money totalled $335, of which Rawlins won the $150 first prize. He also received a gold medal and custody of the Open Championship Cup for his club for one year.
    In its first decade, the U.S. Open was conducted for amateurs and the largely British wave of immigrant golf professionals coming to the United States.
    As American players began to dominate the game, the U.S. Open evolved into an important world golf championship. Young John J. McDermott became the first native-born American winner in 1911 and repeated as champion in 1912.
    In 1913, the U.S. Open really took off when Francis Ouimet, a 20-year-old American amateur, stunned the golf world by defeating famous English professionals, Harry Vardon and Ted Ray, in a playoff.
    Another surge in the championship's popularity coincided with the amazing career of Georgia amateur Bob Jones, who won the U.S. Open four times (1923, 1926, 1929, 1930). Spectator tickets were sold for the first time in 1922 and a boom in entries caused the USGA to introduce sectional qualifying in 1924.
    In 1933, John Goodman became the fifth and last amateur to win the U.S. Open. The others were Ouimet, Jerome D. Travers (1915), Charles Evans Jr., (1916), and Jones.
    In each era, the world's greatest players have been identified by surviving the rigorous examination provided by the U.S. Open. Ben Hogan's steely determination boosted him to four victories (1948, 1950, 1951, 1953). Arnold Palmer's record comeback win in 1960, when he fired a final round of 65 to come from seven strokes off the lead, cemented his dashing image. Jack Nicklaus' historic assault on the professional record book began when he won the first of his four U.S. Open Championships in 1962, his rookie season as a professional.
    Nicklaus, who also won in 1967, 1972, and 1980, is one of only four golfers to win four U.S. Opens. The others are Willie Anderson (1901, 1903, 1904, 1905), Jones and Hogan.
    In 1954, the U.S. Open course was roped from tee to green for the first time. That year also marked the first national television coverage. Coverage was expanded by ABC Sports in 1977 so that all 18 holes of the final two rounds were broadcast live. In 1982, on the ESPN cable network, the first two rounds were broadcast live for the first time. NBC began televising the U.S. Open in 1995.
    The format of the U.S. Open has changed several times. The USGA extended the championship to 72 holes in 1898, with 36 holes played on each of two days. In 1926, the format was changed to 18 holes played each of two days, then 36 holes on the third day. In 1965, the present format of four 18-hole daily rounds was implemented for the first time.
    In 2002, a two-tee (Nos. 1 and 10) start was used for the first and second rounds. In addition, Bethpage State Park's Black Course in Farmingdale, N.Y., was the first facility owned by the public to host a U.S. Open. International qualifying sites were added in 2005 and the champion at Pinehurst Resort in N.C. was Michael Campbell, who qualified in England.