Wilt Chamberlain breaks NBA's career scoring record

California elects Reagan as Governor

Sniper on tower terrorizes campus, slays 12


Billy Casper

Billy Casper became the 11th player to win the Open a second time when he defeated Arnold Palmer in a playoff over the Lake Course of the Olympic Country Club, San Francisco. He won previously in 1959. Casper and Palmer had tied after 72 holes at 278, two under par and matching the second lowest score in Open history. Twice Casper had to come from behind: once in the final round and again in the playoff.

With nine holes to play in the Championship proper, Casper trailed Palmer by seven strokes. On the back nine Casper caught Palmer by scoring 32 against Arnold's 39. No one in Championship history had ever before come from seven strokes behind with nine to play and tied for the lead. Palmer had gone out in 32 in the fourth round and needed par on the last six holes to score 274 and break by two strokes the Open scoring record of 276 set in 1948 by Ben Hogan. Palmer lost a stroke at the 10th, another at the 13th, two at the 15th and then two more at the par-5 16th. Casper squared with a par-4 against Palmer's 5 at the 17th. He had then recovered seven strokes in eight holes, five strokes in three holes!

In the playoff, Palmer raced ahead again with 33 on the out-going nine to Casper's 35. Then Palmer saw his lead erased when Bill holed a putt of fully 50 feet for a birdie on the par-3 13th. From there Casper steadily built up his lead and finished the round with 69 - one under par. Palmer shot 73. In the five rounds Casper was under Olympic's forthright par 70 in four rounds. In the Championship proper he scored 69-68-73-68-278, and then 69 in the playoff. Palmer scored 71-66-70-71-278 and 73. He and Casper shared the lead at the end of 36 holes at 137 and then Arnold went three strokes ahead after 54 holes with a 207.

Jack Nicklaus was third with 285, seven strokes behind Casper and Palmer. Rives McBee, an obscure young professional from Midland, Texas, equaled the Open's single round scoring record with 64 in the second round. It was set originally by Lee Mackey, Jr., in 1950 and equaled first by Tommy Jacobs in 1964. John Miller, a 19-year-old member of Olympic and the 1964 United States Junior Amateur Champion, was low amateur and tied for eighth place with 290. Gary Player, the defending Champion, finished in a tie for 15th place with a score of 293.

The prize money was $147,490 in the Championship proper and $7,800 in sectional Qualifying for a grand total of $155,290, an Open record.


Starts - 20

Best Finish - Winner 1959, '66

Rds - 69

Cuts Made - 14

Top 3 - 2

Top 5 - 4

Top 10 - 6

Top 25 - 12

Avg. - 72.23

Scores In 60s - 9

Rds Under Par - 11

Earnings - $67,889.17
Current Leaders
T2DAY, J.+1F+3
T4ELS, E.-1F+5
T4MAHAN, H.+5F+5
* 11th Tee Start
USGA Membership - Join Now
Virtual U.S. Open
U.S. Open Shop
    Historical Notes
    On Oct. 4, 1895, the first U.S. Open Championship was conducted by the United States Golf Association on the nine-hole course of Newport (R.I.) Golf and Country Club.
    The first U.S. Open was considered something of a sideshow to the first U.S. Amateur, which was played on the same course and during the same week. Both championships had been scheduled for September but were postponed because of a conflict with a more established Newport sports spectacle, the America's Cup yacht races.
    Ten professionals and one amateur started in the 36-hole competition, which was four trips around the Newport course in one day. The surprise winner was Horace Rawlins, 21, an English professional who was the assistant at the host course. Rawlins scored 91-82-173 with the gutta-percha ball.
    Prize money totalled $335, of which Rawlins won the $150 first prize. He also received a gold medal and custody of the Open Championship Cup for his club for one year.
    In its first decade, the U.S. Open was conducted for amateurs and the largely British wave of immigrant golf professionals coming to the United States.
    As American players began to dominate the game, the U.S. Open evolved into an important world golf championship. Young John J. McDermott became the first native-born American winner in 1911 and repeated as champion in 1912.
    In 1913, the U.S. Open really took off when Francis Ouimet, a 20-year-old American amateur, stunned the golf world by defeating famous English professionals, Harry Vardon and Ted Ray, in a playoff.
    Another surge in the championship's popularity coincided with the amazing career of Georgia amateur Bob Jones, who won the U.S. Open four times (1923, 1926, 1929, 1930). Spectator tickets were sold for the first time in 1922 and a boom in entries caused the USGA to introduce sectional qualifying in 1924.
    In 1933, John Goodman became the fifth and last amateur to win the U.S. Open. The others were Ouimet, Jerome D. Travers (1915), Charles Evans Jr., (1916), and Jones.
    In each era, the world's greatest players have been identified by surviving the rigorous examination provided by the U.S. Open. Ben Hogan's steely determination boosted him to four victories (1948, 1950, 1951, 1953). Arnold Palmer's record comeback win in 1960, when he fired a final round of 65 to come from seven strokes off the lead, cemented his dashing image. Jack Nicklaus' historic assault on the professional record book began when he won the first of his four U.S. Open Championships in 1962, his rookie season as a professional.
    Nicklaus, who also won in 1967, 1972, and 1980, is one of only four golfers to win four U.S. Opens. The others are Willie Anderson (1901, 1903, 1904, 1905), Jones and Hogan.
    In 1954, the U.S. Open course was roped from tee to green for the first time. That year also marked the first national television coverage. Coverage was expanded by ABC Sports in 1977 so that all 18 holes of the final two rounds were broadcast live. In 1982, on the ESPN cable network, the first two rounds were broadcast live for the first time. NBC began televising the U.S. Open in 1995.
    The format of the U.S. Open has changed several times. The USGA extended the championship to 72 holes in 1898, with 36 holes played on each of two days. In 1926, the format was changed to 18 holes played each of two days, then 36 holes on the third day. In 1965, the present format of four 18-hole daily rounds was implemented for the first time.
    In 2002, a two-tee (Nos. 1 and 10) start was used for the first and second rounds. In addition, Bethpage State Park's Black Course in Farmingdale, N.Y., was the first facility owned by the public to host a U.S. Open. International qualifying sites were added in 2005 and the champion at Pinehurst Resort in N.C. was Michael Campbell, who qualified in England.