McCartney splits, breaking up Beatles

Voting age lowered from 21 to 18

Sadat succeeds Nasser as President


Tony Jacklin

Tony Jacklin, 25, of Scunthorpe, England, the British Open Champion became the first Briton to the win the United States Open Championship in 50 years when he played four rounds in seven under par at the Hazeltine National Golf Club, Chaska, Minnesota. He was the first Englishman to win since Ted Ray in 1920. Jacklin was the only player in the field to score under par. He played rounds of 71-70-70-70-281 and won by even strokes over Dave Hill, who had 288.

This was the largest winning margin since James M. Barnes won by nine strokes at the Columbia Country Club, Washington in 1921. Jacklin increased his lead after every round. Winds of over 40 miles per hour blew all through the first round and Jacklin's 71 was the best by two strokes. He increased his lead to three strokes after 36 holes and to four after 54. He appeared to be slipping when he went a stroke above par on both the seventh and eighth holes in the final round, but he then sank a 30-foot birdie putt on the ninth and was never threatened.

The Championship was marked by the unusual circumstance of Hill, the leading challenger to Jacklin after the first round, severely criticizing the golf course. Orville Moody, the 1969 Champion, failed to survive the 36-hole cutoff, the fifth Champion in eight years to fail. Prize money was $195,700 in the Championship proper and $7,800 in Sectional Qualifying, a grand total of $203,500.

The entry reached 3,605, a record, and attendance was 75,878, second only to 1967 when 88,414 attended at Baltursrol Golf Club, Springfield, New Jersey. At 7,151 yards Hazeltine was the second longest course ever to be the site of a USGA Championship.


Starts - 7

Best Finish - Winner 1970

Rds - 22

Cuts Made - 4

Top 3 - 1

Top 5 - 1

Top 10 - 1

Top 25 - 2

Avg. - 74.23

Scores In 60s - 0

Rds Under Par - 5

Earnings -$34,674.00
Current Leaders
T2DAY, J.+1F+3
T4ELS, E.-1F+5
T4MAHAN, H.+5F+5
* 11th Tee Start
USGA Membership - Join Now
Virtual U.S. Open
U.S. Open Shop
    Historical Notes
    On Oct. 4, 1895, the first U.S. Open Championship was conducted by the United States Golf Association on the nine-hole course of Newport (R.I.) Golf and Country Club.
    The first U.S. Open was considered something of a sideshow to the first U.S. Amateur, which was played on the same course and during the same week. Both championships had been scheduled for September but were postponed because of a conflict with a more established Newport sports spectacle, the America's Cup yacht races.
    Ten professionals and one amateur started in the 36-hole competition, which was four trips around the Newport course in one day. The surprise winner was Horace Rawlins, 21, an English professional who was the assistant at the host course. Rawlins scored 91-82-173 with the gutta-percha ball.
    Prize money totalled $335, of which Rawlins won the $150 first prize. He also received a gold medal and custody of the Open Championship Cup for his club for one year.
    In its first decade, the U.S. Open was conducted for amateurs and the largely British wave of immigrant golf professionals coming to the United States.
    As American players began to dominate the game, the U.S. Open evolved into an important world golf championship. Young John J. McDermott became the first native-born American winner in 1911 and repeated as champion in 1912.
    In 1913, the U.S. Open really took off when Francis Ouimet, a 20-year-old American amateur, stunned the golf world by defeating famous English professionals, Harry Vardon and Ted Ray, in a playoff.
    Another surge in the championship's popularity coincided with the amazing career of Georgia amateur Bob Jones, who won the U.S. Open four times (1923, 1926, 1929, 1930). Spectator tickets were sold for the first time in 1922 and a boom in entries caused the USGA to introduce sectional qualifying in 1924.
    In 1933, John Goodman became the fifth and last amateur to win the U.S. Open. The others were Ouimet, Jerome D. Travers (1915), Charles Evans Jr., (1916), and Jones.
    In each era, the world's greatest players have been identified by surviving the rigorous examination provided by the U.S. Open. Ben Hogan's steely determination boosted him to four victories (1948, 1950, 1951, 1953). Arnold Palmer's record comeback win in 1960, when he fired a final round of 65 to come from seven strokes off the lead, cemented his dashing image. Jack Nicklaus' historic assault on the professional record book began when he won the first of his four U.S. Open Championships in 1962, his rookie season as a professional.
    Nicklaus, who also won in 1967, 1972, and 1980, is one of only four golfers to win four U.S. Opens. The others are Willie Anderson (1901, 1903, 1904, 1905), Jones and Hogan.
    In 1954, the U.S. Open course was roped from tee to green for the first time. That year also marked the first national television coverage. Coverage was expanded by ABC Sports in 1977 so that all 18 holes of the final two rounds were broadcast live. In 1982, on the ESPN cable network, the first two rounds were broadcast live for the first time. NBC began televising the U.S. Open in 1995.
    The format of the U.S. Open has changed several times. The USGA extended the championship to 72 holes in 1898, with 36 holes played on each of two days. In 1926, the format was changed to 18 holes played each of two days, then 36 holes on the third day. In 1965, the present format of four 18-hole daily rounds was implemented for the first time.
    In 2002, a two-tee (Nos. 1 and 10) start was used for the first and second rounds. In addition, Bethpage State Park's Black Course in Farmingdale, N.Y., was the first facility owned by the public to host a U.S. Open. International qualifying sites were added in 2005 and the champion at Pinehurst Resort in N.C. was Michael Campbell, who qualified in England.