Tyson KO's Michael Spinks in 90 seconds

George Bush elected President

Stealth Bomber Unveiled


Curtis Strange

Curtis Strange, 33, of Kingsmill, Virginia, shot an even par 71 in an 18-hole playoff to defeat England's Nick Faldo by four strokes at The Country Club in Brookline, Massachusetts. It was the third Open played at The Country Club and the third that was decided by a playoff. Francis Ouimet defeated Harry Vardon and Ted Ray in 1913; Julius Boros defeated Jacky Cupit and Arnold Palmer in 1963. Strange and Faldo completed 72 holes in six-under-par 278. Faldo shot 72-67-68-71 - 278 and Strange shot 770-67-69-72.

Two strokes behind were D. A. Weibring, Mark O'Meara and Steve Pate. Paul Azinger and 1987 Champion Scott Simpson finished three strokes behind the leaders at three-under-par 281. Bob Gilder, Mike Nicolette and 1988 Masters winner Sandy Lyle shared the first-round lead at three-under-par 68. Five golfers - Simpson, Azinger, Seve Ballesteros, Larry Mize and Dick mast - were one stroke behind at 69. Strange, Lanny Wadkins and Craig Stadler finished in 70.

The good scoring continued in the second round, led by Simpson's 66. His 36-hole total of 135, seven under par, placed him one stroke ahead of Mize, who had a second round 67. Simpson became the first defending champion to lead after 36 holes since 1941 when 1940 champion Lawson Littler held the second-round lead. Strange and Gilder trailed Simpson by two strokes; Faldo and Lyle were four strokes off the pace.

Strange emerged as the leader after the third round by shooting 69 for a 54-hole total of 206, one stroke better than Simpson, who posted a 72, Gilder who shot 70, and Faldo, who moved into the tie for second with a 68. Weibring, who shot 68, and Mize with a third round 72 were two strokes behind. In the final round, it became a two-man battle as Strange and Faldo's closest competitors faltered. Faldo, the 1987 British Open Champion, moved a stroke in front when Strange bogeyed the second and third holes, but Strange birdied the par-3 seventh to pull even. They remained tied until the 16th, where Strange holed a 25-footer to save par and Faldo bogeyed.

Faldo drew even again when Strange bogeyed the 17th. Strange saved par from the front bunker on 18 and the two finished tied at 278. In the playoff, Strange birdied the fourth and seventh, went out in 34 and held a one-stroke lead. Curtis stretched his lead to two when Faldo bogeyed the 11th, but he gave the stroke back with a bogy at the 12th. Strange sank an 18-foot birdie putt at the 13th and Faldo bogeyed, pushing the American's lead to three strokes.

Faldo birdied the 14th but bogeyed three of the final four holes for 75 to Strange's 71. Bill Mayfair, the 1987 U.S. Amateur Champion, was the only amateur to make the cut, which came at 146. He finished with 287. The USGA accepted a record 5,775 entry for the Championship.


Starts - 22

Best Finish - Winner 1988 & '89

Rds - 75

Cuts Made - 15

Top 3 - 3

Top 5 - 5

Top 10 - 5

Top 25 - 10

Avg. - 72.45

Scores In 60s - 14

Rds Under Par - 20

Earnings - $609,185.75
Current Leaders
T2DAY, J.+1F+3
T4ELS, E.-1F+5
T4MAHAN, H.+5F+5
* 11th Tee Start
USGA Membership - Join Now
Virtual U.S. Open
U.S. Open Shop
    Historical Notes
    On Oct. 4, 1895, the first U.S. Open Championship was conducted by the United States Golf Association on the nine-hole course of Newport (R.I.) Golf and Country Club.
    The first U.S. Open was considered something of a sideshow to the first U.S. Amateur, which was played on the same course and during the same week. Both championships had been scheduled for September but were postponed because of a conflict with a more established Newport sports spectacle, the America's Cup yacht races.
    Ten professionals and one amateur started in the 36-hole competition, which was four trips around the Newport course in one day. The surprise winner was Horace Rawlins, 21, an English professional who was the assistant at the host course. Rawlins scored 91-82-173 with the gutta-percha ball.
    Prize money totalled $335, of which Rawlins won the $150 first prize. He also received a gold medal and custody of the Open Championship Cup for his club for one year.
    In its first decade, the U.S. Open was conducted for amateurs and the largely British wave of immigrant golf professionals coming to the United States.
    As American players began to dominate the game, the U.S. Open evolved into an important world golf championship. Young John J. McDermott became the first native-born American winner in 1911 and repeated as champion in 1912.
    In 1913, the U.S. Open really took off when Francis Ouimet, a 20-year-old American amateur, stunned the golf world by defeating famous English professionals, Harry Vardon and Ted Ray, in a playoff.
    Another surge in the championship's popularity coincided with the amazing career of Georgia amateur Bob Jones, who won the U.S. Open four times (1923, 1926, 1929, 1930). Spectator tickets were sold for the first time in 1922 and a boom in entries caused the USGA to introduce sectional qualifying in 1924.
    In 1933, John Goodman became the fifth and last amateur to win the U.S. Open. The others were Ouimet, Jerome D. Travers (1915), Charles Evans Jr., (1916), and Jones.
    In each era, the world's greatest players have been identified by surviving the rigorous examination provided by the U.S. Open. Ben Hogan's steely determination boosted him to four victories (1948, 1950, 1951, 1953). Arnold Palmer's record comeback win in 1960, when he fired a final round of 65 to come from seven strokes off the lead, cemented his dashing image. Jack Nicklaus' historic assault on the professional record book began when he won the first of his four U.S. Open Championships in 1962, his rookie season as a professional.
    Nicklaus, who also won in 1967, 1972, and 1980, is one of only four golfers to win four U.S. Opens. The others are Willie Anderson (1901, 1903, 1904, 1905), Jones and Hogan.
    In 1954, the U.S. Open course was roped from tee to green for the first time. That year also marked the first national television coverage. Coverage was expanded by ABC Sports in 1977 so that all 18 holes of the final two rounds were broadcast live. In 1982, on the ESPN cable network, the first two rounds were broadcast live for the first time. NBC began televising the U.S. Open in 1995.
    The format of the U.S. Open has changed several times. The USGA extended the championship to 72 holes in 1898, with 36 holes played on each of two days. In 1926, the format was changed to 18 holes played each of two days, then 36 holes on the third day. In 1965, the present format of four 18-hole daily rounds was implemented for the first time.
    In 2002, a two-tee (Nos. 1 and 10) start was used for the first and second rounds. In addition, Bethpage State Park's Black Course in Farmingdale, N.Y., was the first facility owned by the public to host a U.S. Open. International qualifying sites were added in 2005 and the champion at Pinehurst Resort in N.C. was Michael Campbell, who qualified in England.